Blog

Quintilone & Associates focuses in Class Actions, Employment Law, Personal Injury, Trade Secrets Litigation, and Business Litigation in Orange County, CA area.

California Minimum Wage Increases Starting July 1, 2019

As many employees and employers are aware on July 1, 2019 several local minimum wage rates will increase, and two new local minimum wage ordinances for Alameda and Fremont County will go into effect. 

Minimum Wage Increases

The following cities and county will increase
their minimum wage on July 1, 2019 to:

  1. Berkeley: $15.59/hour.
  2. Emeryville: $16.30/hour for businesses of all sizes
    (except for Small Independent Restaurants).
  3. City of Los Angeles: $14.25/hour for
    employers with 26 or more employees; $13.25/hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
  4. County of Los Angeles (unincorporated areas only): $14.25/hour for employers with 26 or more employees;
    $13.25/hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
  5. Malibu: $14.25/hour for employers with 26 or more
    employees; $13.25/hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
  6. Milpitas: $15/hour.
  7. Pasadena: $14.25/hour for employers with 26 or more employees; $13.25/hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
  8. San Francisco: $15.59/hour.
  9. San Leandro: $15/hour.
  10. Santa Monica: $14.25/hour for
    employers with 26 or more employees; $13.25/hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.

New Minimum Wage Ordinances

Two other cities have enacted a new minimum
wage ordinance that goes into effect July 1, 2019:

  • Alameda: $13.50/hour.
  • Fremont: $13.50/hour for employers with 26 or more
    employees; employers with 25 or fewer employees will continue to pay the state minimum wage rate until July 1, 2020.

Many of these local ordinances contain notice requirements. The CalChamber Store sells required posters that
are compliant with various California city and county local ordinances. Check the store to see if your city or county has any required posters.

Make sure your posters are up-to-date with July 1, 2019, minimum wage rate increases. We get ours from Costco

Orange County does not increase from what was required January 1, 2019.  All California employers with 25 or fewer employees will be required to pay a minimum of $11 an hour, while employers who have 26 or more employees must pay $12 an hour. The federal minimum wage is $7.25, which the state of California supersedes because it is higher.

The law includes exemptions for “learners,” defined as employees with no previous experience during their first 160 hours, as well as employees who are mentally or physically disabled and nonprofit organizations that employ disabled workers.

Restaurant owners may not use waitstaff tips as credit toward their minimum wage obligations.

If you have any questions about whether you have been paid properly or paid all minimum wages or asked to work off the clock or believe you have a claim against your employer for any violation of the California Labor Code, please feel free to contact:

Richard E. Quintilone II Esq. (req@quintlaw.com) 949.458.9675 or Quintilone & Associates

Quintilone & Associates focuses in Class Actions, Employment Law, Personal Injury, and Business Litigation in Orange County, CA area.