Archives

Category Archive for: ‘Family Leave’

Notable Changes in California Employment Law for 2016

It is that time of year again for California employees to hear about the latest and greatest out of Sacramento and for California employers to revisit their policies and handbooks to assess compliance with the slew of new California employment laws that take effect on January 1, 2016, or shortly thereafter. This year there is something for everyone. A few …

Read More

California Reasonable Accommodation Bill Gets Signed Into Law (AB 987)

Governor Brown has just signed AB 987, Employment discrimination: unlawful employment practices (2015-2016), authored by Assemblymember Levine, which amends the Fair Employment and Housing Act (“FEHA”) under the religious accommodation and disability accommodation provisions (California Government Code § 12940(l) and (m), respectively) to clarify that an employer cannot retaliate or otherwise discriminate against a person for requesting a reasonable accommodation. …

Read More

California’s New Paid Sick Leave Law (AB 1522)

July 1, 2015 rolled out the new Paid Sick Leave Law aka California’s Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014. Here is a quick checklist of what the new law means for employees and employers and a link to a mandatory DLSE posting: Employees can use their accrued sick days beginning on the 90th day of employment. Employers may limit …

Read More

Update on Employment Laws for 2014

Wage & Hour Updates Minimum Wage Assembly Bill (“AB”) 10 raises California’s current minimum wage of $8 per hour by two, one-dollar increments: to $9 per hour effective July 1, 2014, and to $10 per hour effective January 1, 2016.  This law, the first mandatory wage increase in nearly five years, comes as a welcome change for California workers. Increase …

Read More

California Governor Brown Signs New Laws Impacting Employees and Employers

Minimum Wage Increase Governor Jerry Brown has signed into law a measure that will increase California’s minimum wage from $8.00 per hour to $9.00 per hour on July 1, 2014, and to $10.00 per hour on January 1, 2016. So, California employers must prepare for a 25% increase in the minimum wage over the next two years.The California Chamber of …

Read More

Quintilone & Associates focuses in Class Actions, Employment Law, Personal Injury, and Business Litigation in Orange County, CA area.